top of page

A relationship to talk about !


FATHER, PAPA, DADDY, DADA, BABA, POPS, PITAJI ! Many names but one emotion!

The contact name in my phone’s contact list for my father is ‘PITASHREE’, not that I kept it sarcastically or something it just came very naturally for him!!

FATHER, a man in whose palms we could literally fit in, a person who used to make us sit on his shoulders and roam for hours as to just make sure that we are sleeping. A man who set standards so high for men, that no boy ever can come even close. Well, the beauty of a father and daughter relationship is that it can never go sour, if he is angry not talking to you he will shed a silent tear for your unhappiness, if he is happy he will make sure that no one sees his tears. Basically the most emotional human of the family! BUT THE MOST BRILLIANT IMPOSTER!

Sometimes like in my case my father(he being an army officer) was away for most of my childhood, I remember us moving to a new city which means new school for me and he calls up my mother to ask that in which class I study. Seldom being around on my birthdays, never attending any important school or college functions, some may say that I may be not that close to my father as others.

Maybe not as much as some of you, but for a fact I know that even when I lose a phone he makes sure that he comes and sees me. Makes sure that he is there to pick me up at airport when I go home makes sure Ma does everything according to my taste when I'm visiting. I know for a fact that these are the ways he shows his love for me!

Every time someone points out that how I resemble my father there is a sense of Pride, in me as he is the super hero probably I can never be. He is indeed the alpha being who makes sure we ll stay comfortably and happy , he meanwhile may or may not be happy.

I stopped looking at my parents as parents long ago! The word ‘PARENT’ has a been over used since immemorial the word comes with its own societal weights.

For me there are human beings they are people , only people in the whole world who will make sure nothing happens to me, people who in all circumstances protect me and will want my good! THEY ARE MY PEOPLE !and my father is MY PERSON !

Being born in the Indian Middle class family, over the period of growing up many elders used to ‘notify ‘ me being ‘proper’ in front of my father! ‘Theek se baitho’ ‘Theek se baatkaro’ ‘theek se kapdepehno’ papa hai! I could never understand as to everything has to be in a way in front of papa! In due course of time the distance + theek se grew into a silent awkwardness which was given the shelter of SANSKAAR by the Indian families. Nevertheless, (Me being the lucky one) my father made sure this awkwardness vanishes! Today I’m a 21 year old working lady and I can dress the way I want, speak my heart out , share everything with my father. He indeed is the superman who listens , who guides and who makes sure I’m happy :)

Picture credits: Aranyka Sharma

bottom of page